Ministry of Saskatchewan (concluded)

Minister of Culture and Youth, Consumer Affairs and Provincial Secretary, Hon. E. Tchorzewski Minister of Finance, Hon. W.A. Robbins

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. J.R. Kowalchuk

Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development, Hon. D.W. Cody.

3.3.1.9 Alberta

In addition to the Lieutenant Governor (since April 1974 the Honourable R. Steinhauer) the government of Alberta is composed of an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly of 75 members elected for a maximum period of five years. On August 30, 1971, 49 Progressive Conservatives, 24 members of the Social Credit party, one New Democrat and

one Independent were elected to form the 17th Legislature.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$9,000, a \$4,500 expense allowance and \$30 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. In addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, the Speaker receives a salary of \$8,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$5,000. The Leader of the Opposition's salary in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance is \$22,000. The Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Leader of the Opposition also receive \$30 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the sessional indemnity and allowance the Premier receives \$27,000, other Ministers \$22,000 and Ministers without portfolio \$16,000.

The Executive Council of Alberta as at December 31, 1973

Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon. Peter Lougheed

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Hugh M. Horner Minister of Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs,

Hon. Donald R. Getty
Minister of Education, Hon. Louis D. Hyndman
Provincial Treasurer, Hon. Gordon T.W. Miniely
Attorney General and Provincial Secretary, Hon.
C. Mervin Leitch

Minister of Health and Social Development, Hon. Neil S. Crawford

Minister of Manpower and Labour, Hon. Albert E. Hohol

Minister of Environment, Hon. William J. Yurko Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. David J. Russell

Minister of Advanced Education, Hon. James L. Foster

Minister of Mines and Minerals, Hon. William D. Dickie

Minister of Telephones and Utilities, Hon. Roy A. Farran

Minister of Public Works, Hon. Winston O. Backus Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. Frederick H. Peacock

Minister of Highways and Transport, Hon. Clarence Copithorne

Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Allan A. Warrack

Minister of Culture, Youth and Recreation, Hon. Horst A. Schmid

Solicitor General, Hon. W. Helen Hunley Minister of Consumer Affairs and Minister responsible for Tourism, Hon. Robert W. Dowling

Minister without portfolio, responsible for Rural Development, Hon. George Topolnisky Minister without portfolio, responsible for North-

ern Development, Hon. J. Allen Adair.

3.3.1.10 British Columbia

The government of British Columbia consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Since March 19, 1973 the Lieutenant Governor has been the Honourable Walter Stewart Owen. The Legislative Assembly has 55 members who are elected for a term not to exceed five years. Following the August 1972 election, the 30th Legislature opened October 17, 1972 with 38 New Democrats, 10 Social Credit members, five Liberals and two Progressive Conservatives in the Assembly.

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$8,000, \$1,500 for expenses, a living allowance of \$2,000 (based on a per diem rate of \$50, not exceeding 40 days), an allowance of 25 cents a mile of the distance, going and coming, according to the nearest mail route, and \$500 for telegraph and telephone expenses. In addition, the Premier is paid an annual salary of \$28,000, each member of the Executive Council with a portfolio \$24,000 and each member of the Executive Council without portfolio \$21,000. The Leader of the Opposition and the Speaker receive special allowances of \$11,000 for expenses; the Deputy Speaker receives a special allowance of \$4,500.